Feminism?

So, the other day I was talking to my friend and she showed be a bunch of Tumblr posts about feminism (‘cause she’s totally a feminist), and it got me thinking… is there a guy version of feminism?
Obviously, not everyone has the same opinion, and there are probably some people out there who think that women are more superior to men. Maybe in some countries, men are being abused instead of the other way around. What feminists are promoting is equality between men and women. They’re fighting for the rights of their gender, and I have nothing against that. To be honest, I support them, but we can’t stop the world from being cruel, can we? It’s possible but I’m pretty sure that’s not going to happen any time soon…
Anyway, back to the point. Feminists are promoting equality, but where’s the equality in that when in some places, men are the ones being abused and the women are the ones who take advantage of them. To have REAL equality between both genders there should be equality EVERYWHERE. And equality may be something even Obama can’t whip up, but it is still possible.
What I’m trying to say is that there should be men fighting for their rights too. Let’s say in country A, the men are very abusive, the women there should be feminists, but in country B, women are abusive, men should fight for their rights too. If there are feminists, there should be “masculinists” too. (please think of a better term for this… “masculinists” aren’t too catchy)

Maybe?

One thought on “Feminism?”

  1. There is a male version. They call themselves mens rights activists but the reason I am apposed to their so called movement is that they don’t hold marches for the protection of vulnerable men, they don’t create homeless shelters for men and their specific needs, they don’t instigate movements to help men in need. Their main objective is to undermine and belittle feminists who simply want equal rights! I am a feminist and when I see such ‘mens activist groups’ it makes me squirm and realise why feminism and standing up for women is important. Yes, men get abused, yes, men suffer. But so do women, and actually looking at men and women equally I think it’s important to support movements which address human problems whether those people are female, male, trans, non-binary etc… that’s really what feminism is about. All the best, Bryony.

    Like

Leave a comment